Are you sure you want to close the chat?Chat will be closed and the chat history will be cleared.
continue to sign out,
or stay on chat.
To review this chat session please click this windows.
Chat Online
Chat Online0
Support

Forum

A place for Dynadot and community experts alike to ask questions, share ideas, and more.
Dynadot hosting question
2/3/2007 16:00
Hi, I'm a newbie here, just purchased two domain names, and I have already sent this question to Support. But as I don't know how long that will take I am asking here as well.
I want to purchase Dynadot $1 a month hosting as well, but it doesn't support php/mysql. Frankly these terms are all Greek to me and I don't know what I will or will not be able to do without them. I use Dreamweaver to build my pages. Does that mean I won't be able to use this program? All I need to know really is do I need php/mysql.
Thanks

Gail
Reply Quote
2/3/2007 19:30
You should be able to use Dreamweaver, assuming you only have HTML files. Dynadot does not support any scripts or server side includes (SSI).

[This post has been edited by domainmaster on Feb 3, 2007 7:33pm.]
Reply Quote
Posted By other
2/3/2007 20:13
"I use Dreamweaver to build my pages."
Depends on what features you put in your website. If you stick with HTML and simple, no-nonsense design you will be fine.

"All I need to know is do I need php/mysql?"
MY SQL is for databases and Word Press. Web CTM: Web Content Management Applications and tools.

PHP is for advanced users. If this is your first website, don't use PHP you will likely run into trouble.

Also, WebHero.com offers free hosting including PHP, if you register a domain name with them. So you can use these features, together with your current DynaDot hosting.

This is a good way to save lots of cash. I have used Web Hero, they are a good company. But if you are just starting out ...

DynaDot has the most user friendly platform out there.